We are 144,984 members in 73 forums discussing 114,798 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

All TopicsForum: Stage IV and Metastatic Breast Cancer ONLY → Topic: Price of Herceptin?

Topic: Price of Herceptin?

Forum: Stage IV and Metastatic Breast Cancer ONLY — A place for those managing the ups & downs of a Stage IV/metastatic breast cancer diagnosis. Please respect that this forum is for Stage IV members only or those posting on behalf of a Stage IV patient. There is a separate forum for Stage IV Caregivers/Family in "Support and Community Connections".

Posted on: Mar 14, 2009 11:05AM

respin wrote:

I apologize if I'm not on the right thread...I'm new to bc, and therefore fairly new to the workings of this board - diagnosed stage 4 right from the get go...

Just got my detailed bill from Sloan, and my herceptin drip is $7380! A quick calculation 17 weeks a year x 7380 = 125K .. a year! Holy cow.

I just can't wrap my head around it.  I know, welcome the world of medicine.

But, wow.

Posts 1 - 24 (24 total)

Mar 14, 2009 12:24PM Sassa wrote:

I know what you mean.  I calculated my year of herceptin at $142,000.

We have to pay for those countries where the socialized medicine will paid the manufacturer  a much lower  amount than we pay and for the uninsured that get the drug for free.

Dx 11/6/2006, IDC, 1cm, Stage I, Grade 3, 0/9 nodes, ER-/PR-, HER2+

Mar 14, 2009 12:27PM Fitztwins wrote:

Yup. Thank goodness for insurance.  We sure got our money's worth these past 4 years. No to mention the $$$$ out of pocket expenses.

Janis

Enjoy Every Sandwich.