We are 145,005 members in 73 forums discussing 114,830 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

All TopicsForum: Stage IV and Metastatic Breast Cancer ONLY → Topic: Removing the main tumor or not?

Topic: Removing the main tumor or not?

Forum: Stage IV and Metastatic Breast Cancer ONLY — A place for those managing the ups & downs of a Stage IV/metastatic breast cancer diagnosis. Please respect that this forum is for Stage IV members only or those posting on behalf of a Stage IV patient. There is a separate forum for Stage IV Caregivers/Family in "Support and Community Connections".

Posted on: Aug 15, 2010 12:22PM

dinddind2003 wrote:

This is my first time visiting the forum and now there is a hard decision for my family. My mother-in-law was diagnosed with breast cancer that was bonemetastasis this March. The size of the main tumor is 5cm×3cm after 6 times radiation. We are concerned that whether now removing the main tumor is a better treatment for her or not, since we heard that there is a likelihood that removing the main tumor may accelerate the spread of breast cancer. Is there any person has similar experience and knowledge about this risk? I really appreciate any advice. Thank you all.

Posts 1 - 4 (4 total)

Aug 15, 2010 12:56PM EnglishMajor wrote:

Surgery is not standard of care for Stage IV, but in certain cases there is thought to be some benefit. Typically surgery would only be done if the disease in good control. If there was visceral involvement, surgery probably wouldn't be done. 

I don't think that tumor removal could accelerate the spread of the disease. But equally important, there is no guarantee that having the surgery will benefit your MIL. Ultimately it is your MIL's choice. 

I have a low volume of bone mets and had a mastectomy this past May. If you do a search on thi site you will find additional discussions. 

[from a previous thread]

AnnNYC AnnNYC wrote: