We are 144,896 members in 73 forums discussing 114,712 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

All TopicsForum: Not Diagnosed but Worried → Topic: What is PASH?

Topic: What is PASH?

Forum: Not Diagnosed but Worried — Meet others worried about developing breast cancer for the first time.

Posted on: May 23, 2010 03:13PM, edited May 24, 2010 10:03PM by Meaghan

Meaghan wrote:

I was recently diagnosed and have done a lot of research on PASH, but everything I have found is in clinical terms.  Not being a medical professional, I have no idea what it all means.  I'm looking for a description in layman terms, such as "the fibrocystic cells in the breast grow to abnormal size and reproduce rapidly".  Obviously that's just an example, but I need something that I can understand and say when I explain PASH to my family.  Does anyone know themselves or have a website that I can refer to?

EDIT:  All I can tell you is what PASH stands for... Pseudoangiomatous stromal hyperplasia.  Other than that, I only know that it is a normally benign growth that is frequently a microscopic incidental finding in breast biopsies performed for benign or malignant disease.  Mine, however, is not so microscopic nor incidental.  This one is 2.5 x 1.5 cm.

EDIT 2:  I have already visited not only the site that the gave the definition but also the all of the sites listed in the last answer.  I just don't understand what most of what I'm reading means.  That said, I do thank both of you for your efforts.  I wish there was an online layman-worded dictionary of medical conditions that was easy to navigate.  I've found a couple of online medical dictionaries, but the definitions are just as difficult to understand as the term I'm looking up - lol!  Thanks again!

EDIT:  Thank you for the all of the explanations.  It seems to make more sense now.

Posts 1 - 5 (5 total)

May 23, 2010 04:15PM barbe1958 wrote: