Topic: What Do You Wish You Had Known Sooner?

Forum: Employment, Insurance, and Other Financial Issues — Employment, insurance, and financial concerns are common. Meet others here to discuss and for support.

Posted on: Jan 2, 2011 11:52PM

Posted on: Jan 2, 2011 11:52PM

AlohaGirl wrote:

I'm working with a local legal aid organization on a program to help people with serious illnesses, including cancer, and one of our first projects is to put together some information that will allow people to help themselves.  (I'm a lawyer, but in a totally different practice area, so I don't know a lot about these issues, though I am learning.)  So, I was wondering, what do you wish you had known sooner after your diagnosis?  In terms of insurance, disability, etc. -- not in terms of medical knowledge!  I figure that is what we need to be telling people, not providing a lot of information that may not be very helpful.

I'm really excited about this project and about putting something together that will be a help to people.  I feel so fortunate that my diagnosis was DCIS and that I was able to continue working throughout treatment (though of course I would have preferred not having any form of BC), but I know there are a lot of folks who aren't so fortunate.  

Thanks in advance for your input.  Of course feel free to PM me if you prefer!

Heather 

Dx 2/18/2009, DCIS, Stage 0, Grade 3, 0/0 nodes

Page 1 of 2 (20 results)

Jan 3, 2011 12:08AM iodine wrote:

I knew but didn't really accept that as a patient, I have choices.  I can accept or refuse any offered advice or treatment options I choose.  I do not have to do or participate in Everything even when I don't understand or agree with what/or manner that things/treatments/pain are being done.  As the patient, I have rights (and responsibilities) to become informed, even if the medical person has to take an extra few minutes to explain something to my understanding.