Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Best Calcium and D3 supplement?

Jewelweed
Jewelweed Member Posts: 46

I had my bone density scan and I have been diagnosed with osteopenia. Since I will eventually be looking at taking aromatase inhibitors, I'm obviously concerned about bone density a d beefing mine up as. Such as possible.

Can this even be done? I've heard that you can't reverse bone loss. I've also read that there an be big problems regarding absorbtion. I don't want to gulp down supplements only to have them clog my arteries.

Could someone point me past the snake oil to a nice chewable calcium and D3 supplement that will go where I need it to go?

Many thanks!

Comments

• SuQu31
    SuQu31 Member Posts: 73

I’m no expert and I don’t have a chewable suggestion, but wanted to respond and maybe someone else will see your post. I actually did improve my bone loss, so I know it can be done to some extent. Don’t want to be too indelicate, but the reason I did not regularly take Calcium was from HORRIBLE gas pains caused by most Calcium supplements. I mean, horrible. I finally found a calcium supplement I could take without pain and also a D3 supplement that does not contain the “bad” Calcium that caused the gas pain.

I take Posture D Calcium and Naturewise VitaminD3 supplement. My doctor suggested the addition of weight-bearing exercise (walking) may have done as much as these two supplements, but at least I am headed in the right direction.

Hope this helps and someone else jumps in as well.

• minustwo
    minustwo Member Posts: 13,028

I too improved my bone density - twice. I went from osteopenia back to normal some years before cancer by adding calcium, cutting out cokes, quitting smoking & starting walking & weight bearing exercises. Then after cancer tanked my bone scans again, I've improved from full on osteoperosis back to very mild osteopenia so far.