Join Us

We are 224,318 members in 83 forums discussing 163,493 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

Topic: At odds with surgeon.

Forum: Diagnosed and Waiting for Test Results —

Share with and support others all waiting for test results from CAT scan, PET scan, Oncotype tests, Mammaprint, FISH, IHC, and other diagnostic tests.

Posted on: Jul 17, 2021 08:02AM - edited Jul 17, 2021 08:08AM by Bookpusher

Bookpusher wrote:

3 weeks ago was diagnosed with high grade DCIS, with comedo neucrosis, ER/PR negative. Met with surgeon yesterday. We disagreed on treatment. He recommended lumpectomy, with rads. I wanted mastectomy, (even double) I feel my reasons are valid. Surgeon was somewhat dismissive of my concerns re high recurrence rate of grade 3, comedo neucrosis, ER/PR negative status, I did not want rads, mother had breast cancer, I felt mastectomy would give me more peace of mind, etc etc. I am 70. He countered with his reasons for lumpectomy and added, I am a breast conserving surgeon. He did not flat out say he would not do mastectomy but the vibe was he wanted me to do lumpectomy.

THEN he drops the bomb that the radiologist there at the breast care center had reviewed my mammo from my home facility and found 3 new suspicious areas.