We are 188,931 members in 81 forums discussing 141,553 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

All TopicsForum: Biographies and Inspiring Stories → Topic: My message after 5 years...

Topic: My message after 5 years...

Forum: Biographies and Inspiring Stories —

Share your personal story, diagnosis, and treatment path, and stories of survival, hope, and success to encourage and inspire others!

Posted on: Jun 1, 2017 03:14PM - edited Jun 1, 2017 07:54PM by MammaRay

MammaRay wrote:

Hello friends!

Some who don't know me may seem confused as it looks like I am new to these threads. I found my way here five years ago but choose to leave for a while earlier this year. Only because of my own emotional state after seeing the losses of beloved members here, and struggling with my own advanced diagnosis.

I have missed this place and the comfort that it brings.

I'm currently going through chemo, and thus have lots of "down time" while I rest. I have been reading through a lot of old posts, emails, texts, etc... Yesterday was my five year "cancer-versary". Wow! SOoooooooo much has happened in those five years. Beautiful and challenging things. Inspiring and frustrating things. I would think/hope I have grown and learned as well. I decided that I would share some of my thoughts:

- You don't always need a reason! I feel, especially among those of us who have strong faith, we will reach for any answer. There very well may be a reason for our trials, (there may not be) but WE do not NEED one. Can we really think of any reason that would pacify the frustration of our diagnosis? Probably not.

- People typically mean well. I will continue to be amazed at the foolish things that are said to people who are ill. But, when really evaluating the context of those things, I think that most people think that they are doing or saying the right thing. Try to be patient. I know there have been many times in my life when my mouth moves faster then my thoughts. Smile