Join Us

We are 218,228 members in 84 forums discussing 160,960 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

Topic: Physical Fitness limitations after a DIEP reconstruction

Forum: Breast Reconstruction — Is it right for you? Discuss timing and various procedures and techniques.

Posted on: Oct 27, 2015 08:17PM

personaltrainer1 wrote:

I am at a decision point in my reconstruction. I had previous radiation an lumpectomy so after re occurrence diagnosis I had to have a mastectomy. I chose to do a bilateral with tissue expanders. The radiated side got infected and the expander came out. I am a group fitness instructor and personal trainer and I am very leary about proceeding with the DIEP procedure as I am unsure how it may effect my physical activities. Has anyone experienced this that can offer me their story?

Page 1 of 1 (9 results)

Posts 1 - 9 (9 total)

Oct 28, 2015 03:46PM cloudynight wrote:

Hey personaltrainer1,

I am reasonably physically active, and had a unilateral DIEP construction at the end of April of this year. I'm overweight, but can run 4 or 5 miles at a time, and lift weights once or twice a week. I'm 36, and this was my first, and only reconstruction procedure. I did not have radiation. I was not in my top physical condition when I had the surgery, and I followed it up with 12 weeks of Taxol, so I lost a lot of strength there too.

I would say that my overall experience has been great with a DIEP reconstruction. That said, holy hell, it is QUITE a surgery. I'd had abdominal surgery before, a C-section, and this was much, much more serious.

Good things: I personally have no range of motion problems with my arms. I'd say my range of motion is 95 percent of what it is on the unaffected side. My pecs are almost as strong as they were pre-surgery. The cosmetic result is FANTASTIC. The surgeon actually sewed my abs together (they'd separated during pregnancy), so my stomach looks pretty darn good.