Topic: MRI Guided Biopsy

Forum: High Risk for Breast Cancer — Due to family history, genetics, or other factors.

Posted on: Aug 10, 2021 09:16AM

Posted on: Aug 10, 2021 09:16AM

Kbyrne81 wrote:

Hello! Due to family history I am in the high risk group with MRI/Mammogram every 6 months like most of you. I'm pretty new to this as I just had my first mammo in January and then an excisional biopsy in March. That biopsy was benign and showed a whole host of benign things like fibrocystic changes, PASH, gynecomastoid like changes, and other stuff. Well, I did my MRI in July which found a small, linear non-mass enhancement that will be biopsied in two weeks. I have not been worried about it but had an extremely anxious dream last night about the MRI guided biopsy (I couldn't stand laying still that long and busted out of the machine!). My questions for you are:

1. What was your experience like with the MRI guided biopsy? I've had an MRI so I feel like it would be very similar? Did it take a super long time? Was it hard to stay still?

2. If you have benign changes in one breast is it pretty safe to assume you have the same changes in the other breast?

Thanks for your input and support. It is great to know that I am not the only woman dealing with all these screenings and biopsies!

Page 1 of 1 (3 results)

Aug 10, 2021 09:41AM ctmbsikia wrote:

Hi. Best of luck with the biopsy and hope for another benign result.