Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

a lonely daughter

Options
poodiesue2117
poodiesue2117 Member Posts: 1

My mom died from breast cancer. Writing that still feels unreal. 

She was the strongest, happiest, funniest, person I'd ever met. At times I was 100% sure she was crazy. But she was my best, and sometimes my only friend. She had breast cancer the first time when I was in elementary school. She was in remission for 5 years before it returned. This time it was terminal. The doctors told her she had about 14 months and she promised my brother and I she would last 3-5 years. She lasted about 4. She wanted to see me get into college. I graduated a year early so that she could, but the year that I went away to school, was her last year on earth. I  did not know it at the time, but my subconscious prevented me from succeeding that year because I think I knew, I should have been at home. I went home the summer after my freshman year at college, and my mom told me she was tired, that she needed some more help around the house. My brother was in Iraq and my dad left us 4 year ago. I was happy to help. I'd do anything for her. I tried to put a lot of effort into cooking so that she would put a lot of effort into eating. she did her best. I did everything I could but I'm only 18. She was still working, part-time disability, mostly for the health care. About a month after I got home there was a week where my mom did not get out of bed much and she really didn't seem to be doing well. I did not know it at the time but she'd been off chemo for awhile because her white blood cell count was low. she went to work on thursday for a few hours but I knew something was wrong. I called her doctor and set up an appointment for Friday. We went in and he noticed that she was a little jaundiced. Thats when he told me to try to get my brother home. I was sure that he was jumping the gun a bit but I was happy for an excuse to get my brother home from war. So i t