Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Is weight training after reconstruction possible w implants?

Options
ailenroc
ailenroc Member Posts: 21
edited March 2020 in Working on Your Fitness

My surgeons have told me that after breast reconstruction (BR) with silicone implants, I won't be able to do upper body weights anymore because any upper body weight training -even if I only do arms- would use the pectoralis which would distort and reposition the implant making it look ugly and increasing the risk of longterm problems. Is that true? Has anyone been successfully weight training with implants after BR? Does anyone know of any good guidelines (book, video, online ... ) for safely training upper body after BR?

Comments

• Gitane
    Gitane Member Posts: 58
    edited July 2008
    Options

My question exactly.  I asked it a few posts down if you want to read the responses.  I've been doing some very mild lifting, as I'm new to this.  I really think it's good for me, but I take it easy on the pecs.  I'll be watching your thread to see if we can get more info on this.

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Member Posts: 183
    edited July 2008
    Options

Hmmm...The main reason I went with implants at first was so I could CONTINUE to be as active as I was before the bilateral...

I'm no expert - and  did have saline implants, not silicone - but I didn't really ever have any restrictions on upper body lifting or activity except immediately after surgery. And I lifted like a daggone maniac - three days a week, arm intensive - along with karate and all the punching and pushups that came with it. Everything stayed in place just fine!

Most docs will tend to err on the side of caution and advise against lifting stuff so as not to upset the apple cart, so to speak. But I'm curious to know what kind of long-term problems your surgeons are talking about...

I'd seek a second opinion for sure. All the best...

• RockHound
    RockHound Member Posts: 2