Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

New here....Bi-rad 5 :-(

annlat
annlat Member Posts: 25
edited January 2021 in Waiting for Test Results

Hi. I had a mammogram and ultrasound showing a small mass in my left breast. I have been reading online and trying to prepare for the worst since the report said Bi-rad 5. I had my biopsy on Tues, waiting to hear back. I have only told a couple of people because I don't want to worry anyone. So far, I haven't really been upset, just worried and I am starting to feel sad. I live alone with my dog and my family is in another state. I explained to my sister that I probably have cancer. She will come and help me with whatever, but I hate asking anyone for help. It makes me sad to see so many people here on this page. I am a retired Rad Tech, but I worked in the Cath Lab and I don't have any experience with breast cancer. So all of this is new for me. I did speak to a cousin that had breast cancer and talked about her treatments, etc. and I did feel a little better after getting some first hand information. Sigh....I feel like I'm rambling. Maybe it's the wine? :-) I need to relax and get my mind off of this for a little while. I pray for all of you! And I'm glad this site is here.

Comments

• beesie.is.out-of-office
    beesie.is.out-of-office Member Posts: 1,435
    edited January 2021

Sorry you've had to find us.

Unfortunately with a BI-RADs 5, it is likely that your biopsy will find cancer. But I've been here a long time, and I have seen quite a number BI-RADs 5s come back benign - there are some benign conditions (radial scars, for example) that mimic breast cancer on imaging. So you should prepare to hear that you have breast cancer, but you can still hope for the best.