Topic: No radiation--5 years clear!

Forum: Radiation Therapy - Before, During, and After — What to expect from treatment and ways to cope with side effects.

Posted on: Jul 10, 2008 08:37PM

Posted on: Jul 10, 2008 08:37PM

wiscpat wrote:

I was diagnosed with IDC in July 03, 6mm, lumpectomy with clear margins, no nodes involved, non-aggressive pathology 3/9 on Nottingham scale.  Age 60, postmenopausal, ER/PR+

My oncologist ASSUMED I would have radiation.  After a LOT of research and discussions with 3 different radiologists, I chose to skip it.  Would I recommend that for everyone?  No, it depends on YOUR specific factors and comfort level.  Age and the aggressive level of the tumor weigh heavily.  No tamoxifen either.  I have just had my 5 yr. clear mammogram and lab tests....no sign of further involvement.  Marie and I have been corresponding annually for over 4 years.  I wish WE had been in a research study!  Perhaps they could find the factors which would allow more women to avoid the radiation and tamoxifen route.

Best wishes to all of you, especially those wrestling with this question. 

Dx 7/2003, IDC, <1cm, Stage IB, Grade 1, 0/3 nodes, ER+/PR+, HER2-

Page 1 of 1 (10 results)

Jul 10, 2008 08:42PM easyquilts wrote:

Wisat....Congratulations!  What wonderful news....I know the decision you made was not an easy one, and am so glad it has worked out well for you.  

Sandy

Sandy from Cincinanti....AKA Kermit Dx 5/21/2008, DCIS, Stage 0, Grade 1, 0/0 nodes, ER+/PR+, HER2-

Jul 11, 2008 06:38PM ginger2345 wrote:

Congrats on 5 years. Sounds like you are one of those that rads and tamox wouldn't have helped. We know statistically that that is the case; it's nice to have a name to go with that stat.Smile
Ginger Dx 11/1/2004, DCIS Dx 9/5/2012, IDC, 1cm, Stage I, Grade 2, 0/2 nodes, ER+/PR+, HER2-

Jul 12, 2008 08:34AM Dejaboo wrote:

Wonderful to hear!   Congratulations!

Pam