Join Us

We are 220,444 members in 84 forums discussing 161,934 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

Topic: New and Advice would be great!

Forum: ILC (Invasive Lobular Carcinoma) — Just diagnosed, in treatment, or finished treatment for ILC.

Posted on: Jul 25, 2008 11:26AM

Stark7 wrote:

I'm a newbie, had a biopsy June 18th and have ILC, stage 1 and intermediate grade.  Had a lumpectomy on June 27 with negative lymph node and ER positive.   I'm 42, and I'm Stark7 because I have 5 children - ages from 17 to 3 yrs. old, plus me and my husband.  I live for my family, and that's the first thing I thought of when I found out I had cancer.

I'm a Physical Education teacher;  I run, lift weights, do Tae Bo, walk, garden --- anything to keep me busy because I can't sit still.   But all the bran muffins, fruits and vegetables and all the miles I've ran couldn't keep this diagnosis from finding me.

I've seen an Oncologist this week and he wants me to do chemo, then hormonal and radiation.  I need advice on if I really need chemo and results any of you may have.  I had an Oncotype DX test come back as insufficient findings, (very big blow - after waiting 2 weeks) - so my Oncologist is trying to submit a new biopsy from Pathology (if it hasn't already started to degenerate).

I know life isn't the amount of breaths you take... It's the moments that take your breath away - And I know this has woke me up and I'm going to try and find as many 'take my breath away moments' as I can.     Thank you in advance for any support.

Page 1 of 1 (4 results)

Posts 1 - 4 (4 total)

Jul 25, 2008 01:47PM awb wrote:

I can't speak to chemo as I didn't have it, but my mom did have ILC with negative nodes--lumpectomy, radiation and tamoxifen--and is now a survivor of over 21 years without a recurrence. I hope hearing some good news will help to give you hope.

Anne