We are 222,154 members in 81 forums discussing 156,588 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

Topic: ILC - The Odd One Out?

Forum: ILC (Invasive Lobular Carcinoma) — Just diagnosed, in treatment, or finished treatment for ILC.

Posted on: Dec 11, 2013 03:49PM

MmeJ wrote:

I've been considering starting this thread for some time. Let me say that I'm neither whining nor competing. I am not a scientist or health care worker; however, I am a good sleuth with a strongly analytical temperament, I'm not afraid to ask questions, and I like stats. I am fortunate to have free access to medical journals. I've also been inspired by a recent thread on the Stage III forum regarding prognosis.

I wouldn't go so far as to say we are the orphans of BC (I think that's male BC), but I do think ILC is kind of an afterthought.

Yes, it makes sense to throw most of the time and effort and money into IDC - it's much more common. Some of the other less common types have a very good prognosis. And some subsets - HER+, triple negative (high grade), BRCA+, IBC, are more aggressive so they get a lot of attention despite a smaller population. Many of our drugs and protocols, and ones in the pipeline, are trialed with Stage IV first (rightly so) and then "backtracked" for use with lower stages if they prove to be useful.

So, we lose out, sort of. We don't fit most of those profiles. Most ILC is hormone positive, HER2 negative, and grade 1 or 2.

And the known frequency of failure of standard mammography to detect ILC means that so many of us are diagnosed at Stage III, which certainly skews the survival stats because so many of the analyses are not done stage-matched, and lead time bias is so much stronger. Here again, we lose out.

It is only very recently that there has been discussion about chemo and ILC (hormone positive) and its effectiveness. We just get the same protocols as IDC, well-studied for decades.