Join Us

We are 220,438 members in 84 forums discussing 161,930 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

Topic: Hello. I'm new, and thank you.

Forum: ILC (Invasive Lobular Carcinoma) — Just diagnosed, in treatment, or finished treatment for ILC.

Posted on: Jun 19, 2018 01:15AM - edited Jun 20, 2018 11:08PM by macmomma

macmomma wrote:

The background to this is that I am 57 years old--very, very healthy otherwise-- and my husband was diagnosed in March 2017 with multiple myeloma. Because of myeloma support forums, we found a curative therapy for his cancer. We went through two rounds of VDT-PACE chem followed by two stem cell transplants and three years of immunotherapy ongoing. Now, 15 months later, I'm diagnosed with ILC. I am a physician, and I am a strong advocate. I know I have a very bad family history of cancer. At this point, the enhanced mammograms show only a 4-5 mm "abnormality," but because I insisted on a biopsy (a thread for another day--the worst experience of my life), they found the cancer. Waiting the MRI and genetics. Can't get the MRI because of the extensive trauma from the biopsy. (My hypothesis is that the ILC cause hypervascularization of the region which caused significant bleeding and trauma). Can't do the mastectomy for another 4 weeks because of the trauma. I am determined to have a bilateral mastectomy. Partly because my husband is under the Sword of Damocles, I don't want another over me. The other part is because I know I have a lousy family history. My breast surgeon is very supportive of this.

Here is my question--when my husband was diagnosed, the first information we received was sort of "just be content with palliative therapy and maybe we can keep him alive for 10 years." I'm kind of aggressive, and so would not accept that, and found a curative protocol with Bart Barlogie, MD at Mount Sinai. I'm wondering if there is a "super aggressive cure doctor" for ILC, and if so, who that is.