We are 224,930 members in 82 forums discussing 158,020 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

Topic: Lobsig?

Forum: ILC (Invasive Lobular Carcinoma) — Just diagnosed, in treatment, or finished treatment for ILC.

Posted on: Aug 18, 2019 10:27AM - edited Aug 18, 2019 10:28AM by RMC19

RMC19 wrote:

I'm new to this so please excuse me if this is covered somewhere else. Right now I am Scheduled for a bilateral mastectomy on September 9. I've been doing tons of research, like everyone else here, and found references to lobsig. It is my basic understanding that other tests could be done in addition to the oncotype for lobular specific cancers. Does anyone know how to get this done? I keep asking my breast surgeon and and oncologist and they don't seem to know what it is.

Page 1 of 1 (11 results)

Posts 1 - 11 (11 total)

Aug 18, 2019 03:56PM Jelson wrote:

There is a thread on LobSig on this board https://community.breastcancer.org/forum/71/topics/872516?page=1#idx_2 which contains a journal article citation and here is an even more recent one https://www.labmedica.com/molecular-diagnostics/articles/294778571/test-determines-if-cancer-patients-require-chemotherapy.html

unfortunately it doesn't seem that the test which would help to determine the efficacy of chemo for a particular person is commercially available yet, but you might look for a clinical study?

Dx 4/17/2009, DCIS, <1cm, Stage 0, Grade 3, 0/0 nodes, ER+/PR+

Aug 18, 2019 04:34PM Moderators wrote:

RMC, welcome to Breastcancer.org, we're so happy you found us! Unfortunately, we don't really have any answers for you, as we don't have any information on this type of test in our main site yet. Hope the links that Jelson gave you can help. Thank you, Jelson!

Good luck with surgery. You may want to join also the September 2019 surgery support group. We're sure you'll find support and helpful information there from other members undergoing surgery in September too. Hope this helps!