Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Just diagnosed with triple negative breast cancer

Options
Mrsammieb
Mrsammieb Member Posts: 3

Hi guys! So I was diagnosed with breast cancer in my lymph nodes on February 19th. With further testing they did find a tumor in my breast and I have a biopsy scheduled for next Monday. It is measuring 5cm. Isn’t that kind of big for not showing up on a mammogram? The cancer in my lymph nodes is triple negative.

I feel like things should be moving faster. But at the same time I don’t know if I’m ready for all of this? What is it that will be happening? My surgeon is kind of the point person right now. He said I have to have chemo before surgery. What kind of chemo? Is it a pill? Is it an IV? Do I need to take FMLA from work? I’m a teacher, I teach first grad andmy job requires a lot of energy.

I meet with the oncologist next Monday as well and I do know I’ll have a clearer picture. What has y’all’s journey been?

One more question, at times I get so tired I have to take a nap. I have not started any treatments or anything. Do you think this is my body fighting or stress? Why do I get these bouts of exhaustion?

Thanks guys!

Comments

• elainetherese
    elainetherese Member Posts: 1,625
    edited March 2021
    Options

((Hugs)) Not triple negative but triple positive. If you have dense breasts, it might have been difficult for the mammogram to pick up a tumor of that size.

You will be having IV chemo. You will probably be on a fairly aggressive regimen, like Adriamycin/Cytoxin + Taxol or Taxotere/Carboplatin. Whether or not you need to take FLMA depends on you. I taught through chemo (albeit at a university), but my classes only meet twice a week.

I have no idea why you're napping. Lots of people nap who don't have cancer.

I'm six years out, and my life is pretty normal now. Just think of treatment as a detour on your journey through life.