We are 224,336 members in 82 forums discussing 157,700 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

Topic: New study links br cancer risk to drinks

Forum: Complementary and Holistic Medicine and Treatment — Complementary medicine refers to treatments that are used WITH standard treatment. Holistic medicine is a term used to describe therapies that attempt to treat the patient as a whole person.

Posted on: Jul 11, 2019 09:32AM - edited Jul 11, 2019 09:41AM by Jons_girl

Jons_girl wrote:

Hi. I wasn't sure if anyone had seen this link or would be interested in it. But I'm sharing it as it surprised me. I dodrink no sugar added fruit juice. And apparently that too has risks regarding breast cancer risk if I read the study right.

https://www.bmj.com/content/366/bmj.l2408

The article written on the study is below

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.cnn.com/cnn/2019/07/10/health/sugary-drinks-cancer-risk-study-intl/index.html

Just sharing the study. I am not a expert on knowing about this stuff. I realize 22% isn’t high but it’s a risk none the less. And that’s with drinking less than a whole can of pop.

Dx 6/2017, IDC, Left, <1cm, Stage IA, Grade 1, 0/2 nodes, ER+/PR+, HER2- (FISH) Surgery 7/5/2017 Lumpectomy: Left; Lymph node removal: Sentinel

Page 1 of 2 (39 results)

Posts 1 - 30 (39 total)

Jul 11, 2019 03:18PM wallycat wrote:

The study said there was no cause/effect, just speculation.

Dx 4/07 1 month before turning 50; ILC 1.8cm, ER+/PR+, HER2 neg., Stage 1, Grade 2, 0/5 nodes. Onco score 20, Bilateral Mast., tamoxifen 3-1/2 years, arimidex-completed 4/20/2012

Jul 11, 2019 05:17PM - edited Jul 11, 2019 05:18PM by Jons_girl

I am not sure what you are referring to. I understood they do link sugary drinks to cancer in this study....even though there may not be a known reason why. It is still connected somehow because that is what the study was for. It isn't a surprise to me they found this.