We are 157,892 members in 80 forums discussing 124,931 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

All TopicsForum: Stage IV and Metastatic Breast Cancer ONLY → Topic: Disability Retirement?

Topic: Disability Retirement?

Forum: Stage IV and Metastatic Breast Cancer ONLY — A place for those managing the ups & downs of a Stage IV/metastatic breast cancer diagnosis. Please respect that this forum is for Stage IV members only or those posting on behalf of a Stage IV patient. There is a separate forum for Stage IV Caregivers/Family in "Support and Community Connections".

Posted on: Oct 11, 2011 12:42PM, edited Oct 11, 2011 12:47PM by Faith316

Faith316 wrote:

I am a teacher and trying to decide whether to apply for disability retirement.  I was first dx. with IDC in 4/08.  Had lumpectomy, axillary node dissection with 2/8 nodes positive, AC x 4, 12 weekly Taxol with concurrent Herceptin and then 30 rads tx.  During my radiation, I presented with symptoms of IBC but all my doctors said it had to be side effects from radiation.  It was debated from about 3/09-6/09 when I finally convinced them to biopsy it, and it was IBC.  So, all my chemo and rads had been totally ineffective. 

I was referred to MD Anderson and my onc there stopped the Herceptin (which I had been on for 9 months at that point) and switched me to Tykerb and Xeloda which immediately began working.  A month later my IBC rash was gone and all the other syptoms abating.  I stayed on both T and X for 6 months and stopped the Xeloda in 1/10 right before my uni-mx and another node dissection.  Pathology on all of that shows NED.  But, I remain on Tykerb to this day --- 27 months so far.  My local onc wants me to stay on Tykerb for 5 full years, but that is not definite.  Going to see what my MDA onc thinks.  I go back there in January.