Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

When do you know it's time to change MO

Options
tangandchris
tangandchris Member Posts: 934

Hi everyone

I am still new at MBC, just found out in October.

I went for a 2nd opinion shortly after diagnosis. Her treatment was fairly consistent with my current MO, so I chose to stay with my current dr.

Here's the deal, I keep having this nagging gut feeling I need to change. I have never felt a strong connection with MO, but it didnt seem as important until now. He's a good dr, but have felt like a number at times. My treatment was delayed because he was out of the office. He's out alot.

So I'm wondering if I'm being nitpicky or should I switch. I dont know how complicated this process would be. How many have changed? What is your relationship with your MO like?

Comments

• OnTarget
    OnTarget Member Posts: 124
    Options

Your doctor is in this for the long haul, so you should like and trust them in my opinion.

I didn't like my MO at first because she wasn't assertive enough and I didn't trust her. I did come to like her and see the quiet assertiveness she had. She's left the practice so I have to go to a different MO and it is sad to have to start all over since I liked mine.

My MO was diligent and would not leave me hanging. I feel that she went out of her way to be prompt and helpful.

If I don't like the new one, I'm switching!

• olma61
    olma61 Member Posts: 1,016
    Options

I switched cancer centers last year, mostly to be closer to home in the age of COVID.

I called the new center to inquire about the process, they took my history and said they would do everything if and when I was ready to switch. I thought about it for a few days, then I called back, made an appointment for a consult, emailed a record release so they could get my records and that was it. Very simple, I had zero leg work to do.