We are 191,656 members in 81 forums discussing 142,730 topics.

Help with Abbreviations

All TopicsForum: Not Diagnosed but Worried → Topic: It doesn't help when the Dr says "I don't want you to worry".

Topic: It doesn't help when the Dr says "I don't want you to worry".

Forum: Not Diagnosed but Worried —

Meet others worried about developing breast cancer for the first time. PLEASE DO NOT POST PICTURES OF YOUR SYMPTOMS. Comparing notes, symptoms, or characteristics is not helpful here, as only medical professionals can accurately evaluate and assess your individual situation.

Posted on: Apr 20, 2017 12:46PM

CowgirlsandAngels wrote:

I'm a newbie here, and I've been reading through some of your threads.

5 days ago I found a lump at 12 o'clock in my left breast. It is about the size of a walnut, and not painful.

My left breast has often had shooting pains that feel like they start at my nipple and head in towards my chest wall. The same place as my lump. I've just contributed it to part of being a woman.

I'm 39, and haven't had a mammogram yet.

I saw my GP today who has sent a referral for an urgent diagnostic mammogram, which she warned can still take weeks.

She said she would say it feels like a clogged milk duct, but it's not possible, as my baby is 10 years old.

She made mention of the very prominent veins on my breast as well. And she said, "Don't be alarmed, these could be normal."

She assured me that I had no reason to worry. But I'm not feeling very reassured. Our health care system seems to move in slow motion. I wish I had something else to think about and focus on.

Tick. Took.

Page 1 of 1 (26 results)

Posts 1 - 26 (26 total)

Apr 20, 2017 01:58PM gb2115 wrote:

Where do you live? Waiting weeks for a diagnostic mammogram seems like an awfully long time.

Dx IDC in October 2016, stage 2A, 1.2 cm ER/PR+ Her2-, Grade 2, 1/3 nodes. Mammaprint low risk luminal A, Lumpectomy + radiation + tamoxifen.

Apr 20, 2017 03:37PM CowgirlsandAngels wrote: