Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

I’m so nervous and scared

Lovemydoxies
Lovemydoxies Member Posts: 4

Hello

I am 49 years old. My maternal grandmother had breast cancer and my mother had breast cancer twice (a reoccurrence). Both had treatment and responded well. My mom refused genetic testing but I tested in 2010 and was negative for Brca1 and 2. I have very dense breasts and go to an imaging center for my care. I had a mammogram and ultrasound in October 2019. At that time, the MD said I was no longer eligible to receive my annual MRI because I have an IUD. He said the recommended guidelines had changed. My GYN told me to keep my IUD and go to another center. I tried to do that but it closed down due to poor practices. (The dr was missing cases of women with actual breast cancer.)

Then COVID-19 hit and we all went into lockdown. I am an elementary special education teacher and my school decided to go face to face 4 days a week and virtual for one day. It was triple the work and so stressful as I had a covid case in my classroom. So my breast health got put to the back burner.