Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

If you had an MRI prior to surgery, did it change your plan?

eviec1
eviec1 Member Posts: 80

My apologies if this questions is naive, I am still very new to all of this and trying to understand what to expect, possible scenarios, etc.

In brief: My mamm found calcifications that a subsequent biopsy showed as IDC. I was told that I need to have an MRI prior to surgery, which I just scheduled for next week (that was the soonest available appt). Meanwhile, I have my first meeting with the surgeon this Wednesday. So I'm sort of curious about how to expect this to all play out.

I assume when I meet with the surgeon this week she will propose a surgical plan based on mamm and biopsy results.

But since my MRI will happen the following week, what is the likelihood that whatever she proposes will all end up being scrapped?

If you had an MRI prior to surgery, did it greatly affect your surgical/treatment plan? Or was it mainly just a confirmation of the plan? Or?

Comments

• alicebastable
    alicebastable Member Posts: 1,934
    edited May 2021

My MRI was just for the surgeon to get a better view of where and what size the tumor was. I guess if some huge difference in size appeared, it could change plans.

• typhoon
    typhoon Member Posts: 59
    edited May 2021

Oh, my - your question is not naive at all!! I don't think any of us come into this experience with a full understanding of the terminology or sequence of events. My first few appointments with the breast surgeon and plastic surgeon (and later, with the oncologist) seemed to mainly consist of me saying, "I'm sorry, could you explain that to me, please?"