Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Clothing options after mastectomy

Hello all,

I am an Occupational Therapist who is interested in learning more about the clothing needs of women after mastectomy's. A few questions I am wondering, what clothing items do you need after surgery, are there specific shape wear items that are a must? Is there a certain brand of inserts that are the best? What area do you feel is lacking in the clothing world? Any information you can educate me on so that I can carry this onto my daily profession would be great!

Comments

• ravzari
    ravzari Member Posts: 32
    edited September 2017

It's nice to have a loose, front buttoning shirt with drain pockets on the inside after surgery. If no drain pockets, still a loose, front buttoning shirt that you can pin the drains to so they're not just swinging around loose, which hurts.

Compression (front closing, of course) tends to help with pain and swelling as well, though not all doctors mention that to their patients. A front closing sports bra is good enough if medical compression garments aren't available.

Having loose--but not so loose they fall off--comfortable pants that you can pull up and down without having to wiggle or mess with buttons or zippers is also nice to have for the first few weeks post-op. PJ pants, sweats, stuff like that.

It's also helpful to have comfortable shoes that you can slip on and off without having to bend down to do it, especially for the first couple weeks when you probably have drains in and don't want to jostle them (because that kind of hurts).

Anything that has to be pulled over the head is generally avoided for 6-8 weeks as you're not able to fully lift your arms over your head, though I was able to bend over at the waist and wiggle in and out of tank tops and loose fitting t-shirts by week 3.