Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

How to tell if it is a new primary or local recurrence?

cathy67
cathy67 Member Posts: 411

Ladies,

My first diagnosis was in 2019, lumpectomy plus radiation, then hormone therapy without chemo. Now after 2 years 8 months disease free period, there is a 5mm suspicious nodule, I just got biopsy today.

I am studying how to handle this one if it turns out bad one again. It is 5x4x5mm on ultrasound, same side as last one, but not in surgery area, at least 6cm distance to the original site. If it is, is this a 2nd one, or a local recurrence? I must know it, cause I found NCCN guideline does not include this info, and local recurrence's recommendation will be mastectomy. But if it is a new primary, then 5mm won't need mastectomy, another concern is that, I heard radiation can only do once in life time? Is that the reason lumpectomy can not be done again? My cancer was on right side, I don't need to worry about damage to heart, and I did very well last time for radiation.

Any comments welcome! I still prefer lumpectomy otherwise I won't ask this question.

Anybody experienced two times cancers but still keep breast?

My appt with oncologist is May 13.

Thanks.

Cathy

Comments

• gb2115
    gb2115 Member Posts: 552

I had a same side recurrence and although the hormone receptor percentages were slightly lower than the original tumor, because it was at almost exactly the same place they determined it was a recurrence (rather than new primary), though for awhile the surgeon was calling it new primary. But oncology said the original cells can mutate to change their percentages.

Anyway, either way I was told it needed to be a mastectomy because radiation wouldn't want to treat me twice. The surgeon said she would do it if I wanted, but statistically a third recurrence would be much more likely with a second lumpectomy and no radiation.

I got a mastectomy.

Sorry you are going through this.

• cathy67

gb2115,