Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Deciding to go flat: What questions do I need to ask surgeon?

2008 BMX, with right rupture now: I need to decide asap what surgery to get: replacement of silicone implant or no replacement but go flat. My brief overview of prior posts indicates that even with going flat there is much to learn about: proper incisions, ensuring proper mobility, fat grafting? ...

Any advise or and extensive list of questions to ask and issues to think about would be much appreciated.

Comments

• exbrnxgrl
    exbrnxgrl Member Posts: 4,742

ailenroc,

I have no experience with flat closures but I thought you might find some help on this thread.

https://community.breastcancer.org/forum/82/topics/882994?page=2#post_5760564

• ailenroc
    ailenroc Member Posts: 21

exbrnxgrl: Thank you for that information; it helped to get me a step further: after looking at that forum and another website referenced there: https://notputtingonashirt.org/goingflat/#question...

... and reviewing that website, I was able to quickly decide that ‘going flat’ is not an option for me. Going flat sounds so simple but from what as the site states “one overestimates the benefits”. There are numerous drawbacks, finding the right surgeon, figuring out type of surgery / incision to have a decent flat closure that does not impede mobility, being aware of numerous risks beyond the typical surgery risks ... I had no idea that I would be at risk for a pneumothorax and that because I had a long time ago expanders and then implants that I likely would have a concave chest after years of compression. Not good.