Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

will be starting soon...now I'm nervous

Hi All. This whole thing still has me in disbelief. I seem to just be trudging along the path. and hoping. I am so very lucky, it was early, it was small, two surgeries but now have good margins. So the next step is radiation and talk to oncologist about hormone therapy? I am still learning terminology, still confused, still in a fog.

DCIS, the papilloma was positive for cancer cells. First surgery was excision to remove bad duct and take biopsy. I truly thought it would be fine. ER/Pr 100% and 95% I don't know HER. Second surgery was lumpectomy.

I had an excellent Dr for surgery. But in seeing some of these posts I am now scared abut radiation. Are the techs disinterested? Do you have to hold your breath while they do it/ Do you really blister from it/ do you lose hair?

I know we are each individual and different on this journey. But we have a common connection and it's a path others are not traveling. we're like tourists in another world...and each sees the sights in their own way.

If I googled info I get overwhelmed. so, while I am waiting for my first appointment to be scheduled...Advice? Guidance? What questions should I ask? Can I still drink my wine?

I did read the initial post about what to expect, but this doesn't seem like fun.

This whole site has been a "hero" to me. I have limited support system. I have connected with a couple of members here who have been angels. I am forever grateful.

Thank you

Comments

• lw422
    lw422 Member Posts: 1,399