Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Ixempra-My experience

Options

Comments

• mimi1030
    mimi1030 Member Posts: 3
    edited June 2008
    Options

TooYoung,

Soory to hear about your pain that has to be a drag, hopefully this drug will be worth the SE's kicking cancer butt.  I have no experience with the drug you are on, but it is good mental notes to have should mom need it at some point in the future.  Where in the Bay Area are you?? Are you being treated at UCSF, that is where my mom goes.  I will keep you in my thoughts and hope that you get over this soon.

Hugs Michelle

• LoriFL
    LoriFL Member Posts: 587
    edited June 2008
    Options

Go on the Wagons/Moving On Thread/ Community Afghan to find out about making "squares" for blankets of comfort.

• slc74
    slc74 Member Posts: 8
    edited June 2008
    Options

Has anyone's onc suggested a lower dose of Ixempra to reduce SE's ?? I am seeing mine tomorrow and think I want to have that conversation. I have been thinking maybe this tough treatment will get me to NED but not sure I can take this a whole lot longer.

• tooyoungtohavebc
    tooyoungtohavebc Member Posts: 65
    edited June 2008
    Options

slc

you are reading my mind. I have my infusion next week and see doc at same time. Am going to talk to him about reduced dosage cuz I feel the same as you. They normally base dosage on clinical trials and so sometimes they cannot deviate if drug is new and was approved based on those trials (thus the 3 hour drip) but am going to see what he says.

today i feel a bit better. Still wake up EVERY night several times but mostly at 3 or 4am. So I get up and read or work on something and then go back to bed and wait for alarm to go off. Have decided to take July-Sept off from work to get thru this. Can't wait!

Mimi: I live in Oakland but go to Kaiser in SF for treatment. They use a lot of the same protocols as UCSF and as MD Anderson as well.

• slc74
    edited June 2008