Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Book Lovers Club

Options

Comments

• voraciousreader
    voraciousreader Member Posts: 3,696
    edited November 2010
    Options

LWD - As I mentioned earlier, the DH loves Lee Child.  Here's what he said about where the character Jack Reacher got his name from:

"Unusual name for a character. Where'd that come from? As a stay-at-home writer, I was available for errands. One day we were at the supermarket, and a little old lady said, hey, you're a nice tall gentleman [Child is 6-foot-4, just an inch shorter than the fictional Reacher], could you reach that can from the top shelf for me? My wife said if the writing thing didn't work out, I could be a reacher in a supermarket. People think there's some deep psychological dynamic to his name, but no."

• Alpal
    Alpal Member Posts: 112
    edited November 2010
    Options

Just finished the new Grisham - The Confession. I enjoyed it and it seemed to be more like his early novels that I enjoyed so much. My son (age 32) tells me that Greg Isles is the absolute best at legal thillers - much better than Grisham. Guess I'll have to start on those. I'm impressed with all your "heavy" reading - I read purely for entertainment. I think because my mind is toast!

• hbcheryl
    hbcheryl Member Posts: 4,164
    edited November 2010
    Options

Thanks voracious for me the Franzen was a real slog I'm going to donate it to the library as they have about 200 on the list for it.  Alpal Greg Isles is fabulous and I don't know if anyone likes Harlan Coben but his "Gone for Good' is one of my all time favourites and I know what you mean about the "heavy" I have a friend who loves John Sanford - one was enough for me after they were drilling holes in someones feet yuk no no no!!!

• iodine
    iodine Member Posts: 869
    edited November 2010
    Options

I second the vote for Greg Isles.  Will add Steve Berry

• mradf
    mradf Member Posts: 24
    edited November 2010