Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

BiRads 4a, Waiting for Biopsy

FrayedKnot
FrayedKnot Member Posts: 1
edited January 2021 in Not Diagnosed But Worried

Hi everyone. I am a newbie.

I got a call back on my mammogram just before Thanksgiving and had my re-do last week. The radiologist told me I have a density at 12 o'clock, posterior third but no microcalcifications. My chart says BiRads 4a, so he wants me to have the stereotactic biopsy.

I am 45 years old with none of the risk factor or family history.

After talking in depth with my regular dr, I have decided to schedule the biopsy which, because I am uninsured, will cost $900. However it is worth every penny to hopefully find out the lump is benign.

Anyway, I am shell shocked. I do not feel a lump, have never had an irregular mammogram and am just super healthy. I wondered if there were any members here who had a similar finding and what the outcome was?

I know BiRads 4a is a fairly low risk category, but still warranting a biopsy. I am trying to stay positive but it's almost Christmas and I keep feeling panic whenever I look at my young daughter. It's so hard to keep it together while I wait. And I do have to wait 3 weeks for financial reasons. Agony!

Anyway thanks if you read this long post. :)

Comments

• KTGR
    KTGR Member Posts: 1
    edited December 2012