Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Swelling, pain and firmness in one breast

Options
Beachgirl2
Beachgirl2 Member Posts: 22

Hello all, I am new to this and hope I can get some advice from this community :)

I started noticing breast pain/tenderness at Christmas time but thought nothing off it. About 2 weeks later I noticed that the same breast was slightly swollen. The pain has persisted and the swelling has stayed the same. I went to the doctor a week ago and was put on 4x500mg a day for 7 days to treat a suspected infection. I went back to the doctor yesterday as there has been no reduction to the swelling and still painful. I was given another week of antibiotics as I mentioned to the doctor that I thought the pain wasn't as bad over the weekend but today now I have constant pain again all day so it's making me doubt if it's an infection. My breast is firmer than the other and I can feel a difference on the top outside of my breast ( not a n exact lump but def a mass ) and the pain is a mix of aching and burning pain with the occasional sharpness I have no rash or redness or no nipples changes. The doctor has said she will refer me for a scan if I want her to....I don't want to waste any time if it's nothing to worry about.Any advice on whether this could be anything serious?

I have ready about Ibc but I do not have a rash or redness and I know that mainstream breast cancer doesn't usually have pain associated with it.

Thank you in advance XX 

Comments

• wren44
    wren44 Member Posts: 7,865
    Options

I think I would have it checked out. You'll rest a lot easier if you know for sure it's not serious. It does sound like an infection, so perhaps the antibiotic you received isn't effective and you need a different one.

• Beachgirl2
    Options