Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Calling all Massachusetts Sisters

Options

Comments

• Tappermom383
    Tappermom383 Member Posts: 401
    edited April 2017
    Options

Thanks, sjacobs. It was caught early, which is a good thing and says a lot for those annual mammos!

MJ

• Lindason
    Lindason Member Posts: 3
    edited October 2017
    Options

I'm new to the MA forum and as a first foray, searched for other patients who have had surgery with the MGH Boston team of Dr. Specht for mastectomy and Dr. Liao for reconstructive.  I had a lumpectomy for DCIS in mid-September at MGH but pathology showed margins not favorable so I am scheduled for an early November mastectomy/reconstructive.  I have my meeting with Dr. Liao later this week.  I am considering a DIEP flap.  I am comforted to see there are those here who have had a favorable experience with Dr Liao and Dr Specht.  I have great admiration for Dr. Specht based on my prior surgery.  Any feedback is welcomed to prepare me with questions to ask about reconstructive in my meeting with Dr. Liao.

• lovlilynne
    lovlilynne Member Posts: 35
    edited October 2017
    Options

Hi Lindason, sorry that you have to be here.

I'm curious - did the pathology change from DCIS after your lumpectomy? Because mastectomy seems very radical for DCIS. I had IDC and had to have a re-excision, but they got the clear margins, and Specht did an amazing job - everyone marvels at my scar (or lack thereof). Based on what I had read here on the boards and my other research, I didn't want to have a mastectomy if I could avoid it. I wanted to keep sensation in my chest. And not have major surgery.

I'm sure you'll get more answers from those who have had the surgery, but based on my discussions with those in my group that had a mastectomy, here are some questions I'd ask: