Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Ibrance (Palbociclib)

Comments

• ciaci
    ciaci Member Posts: 315
    edited June 2019

Hollyli, just thought I'd jump in -- TIA is a Transient Ischemic Attack, sort of a mini-stroke (blood supply to the brain is stopped) that comes and goes quickly, so has no lasting effects on the brain tissue.

• Leydi
    Leydi Member Posts: 53
    edited June 2019

Candy-678: I am not a disability expert by any means but I've been researching it pretty hard for myself and wanted to share a few findings with you.

1. Going part-time can be a huge mistake once you try to get disability as the SSDI check amount is largely based on past earnings. Work part-time, earn less, and benefits will be less. The estimate on your personal SS statement should be pretty accurate assuming their record of your past earnings is correct. You can find this on the same statement and compare to past tax return records.

2. As others have noted, metastatic breast cancer should make it easier to qualify and speed up the approval process. However, it is not guaranteed by any means. You'll need to be able to document why you can't work. You will absolutely need a doctor's support to get approval so be sure to get your MO on board before you apply. Most doctor's have very little understanding of disability eligibility and benefits.

3. If you have disability insurance through your employer, do NOT quit your job. Eligibility for the benefit ends when your employment does! However, you can't apply if you are still working. Sounds conflicting, right? The correct order of steps would be to go on sick leave or FMLA, maintain "employment" as long as possible, and apply as soon as your last day of actually working is behind you. SSDI is independent of your current employment status but does rely, as discussed above, on your past/recent earnings.