Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Supraclavicular Node

Hi everyone,

So I've been trying not to be worried but alas... we go through this I think.

I am two boost radiation treatments away from being DONE with treatments! So I'm excited!! But there's a small cloud over it. I feel like I'm being silly but still...

Two weeks ago I found a small supraclavicular lymph node above my collarbone while putting my lotion on. It was definitely NOT there before. I had been having irritation from radiation to that area. So I thought maybe it was rads. RO said maybe bacteria got in, but confirmed it wasn't from rads itself. Said we would watch it. It's been two weeks and it's still there.

They are no longer radiating that area so it is starting to heal and is not painful. I was hoping the node would go away when that went away.

I am an ultrasound tech and scanned it. It is measuring only 1cm (larger than 5mm is abnormal for them)and doesn't look too bad. Some benign features and some features that could point to malignancy so basically I can't tell either way.

I'm nervous but don't want to be! It makes me so angry this popped up two weeks before the end of my treatments when I'm supposed to be celebrating! Which I WILL be regardless but I'll have a small cloud.

Any thoughts? Similar experiences?

Thanks for listening anyways.

Lyn

Comments

• Tinkerbells
    Tinkerbells Member Posts: 53
    edited April 2017

hey lynnie- sorry you have this worry as you finish up your treatment. From what you describe, perhaps it's a reactive node related to radiation? Maybe posting in the rads forum would result in someone going through same experience. I had a lump under my collarbone recently which was related to fat grafting. It's never easy, right? It's so hard to turn off that's portion of our brains that fears the worst. Please keep us posted

• LynnieRich
    LynnieRich Member Posts: 5
    edited April 2017