Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Aunt Recently Diagnosed with Stage IV Breast Cancer

Options
szk32
szk32 Member Posts: 1

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting. I really appreciate this forum and I love the support it provides. I'm also sure you all know more about this topic than me so I'd really like any information anyone can provide. My aunt (who was diagnosed) doesn't speak English well. We're a close knit family and I'm trying to do anything I can to understand and learn because there's so much out there and it's kind of daunting. She didn't really believe she has it, and I think she still may not really believe it. She didn't want to start chemo because she was scared of her hair falling out, but we convinced her it's what is best.

My aunt was diagnosed with triple positive stage IV breast cancer in late December. Doctor said it's in the bones, liver, and lungs. It took a while for us to get to her first round because of all of the scans, tests, changing doctors, etc. She had her first round of chemo about two weeks ago. It went okay, I think. Pills managed the nausea and she just felt some fatigue but she was strong enough to walk around and get some fresh air.