Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

IDC, Grade 3, maybe metaplastic?

mimmin
mimmin Member Posts: 3
edited August 2022 in Just Diagnosed

Hello there!

I'm still in diagnostic process (MRI done yesterday, PET/CT tomorrow), but what I do know is that I have 6 tumours in my left breast, they are quite big (that wasn't written on my report), I am ER-, PR- and HER2 +. Grade 3, score 8.

I will do 6 rounds of chemo with antibody treatment, then surgery.

What is really confusing me is that on my report it says there is suspicion for metaplastic cells. My diagnosis was less than a week ago, so I'm still learning about what all this means, but so far, my understanding is that metaplastic cancer can only occur in tripple negative type? Does suspicion mean that there will be further tests to confirm this?

And another big topic for me right now is: I have a 2 year old and we did want to have another child, although right now it's seeming less important than just going through chemo and getting better without any delays! There were multiple options presented to us including: hormone injections to suppress ovarian activity, freezing ovarian tissue, freezing eggs. Since my tumours are pretty big, most likely spread to lymph nodes and growing quickly, I am eager to start my treatment and not delay it by 2 weeks to retrieve the eggs. I also just dread to have an operation to remove ovarian tissue just before going through chemo, so I'm leaning towards option nr. 1. Any experience with these procedures? I don't want to regret anything later, but I also love my son so very much and it seems 100% more important that I be there for him rather than plan a future child and jeopardise my treatment.

Ugh, these were the worst weeks of my life, but I'm slowly picking myself up and getting ready to face whatever comes my way! Thank you for any inputs and support!

Comments

• moderators
    moderators Posts: 7,815

Hi mimmin, and welcome to Breastcancer.org.