Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

DIEP flap and mastopexy questions

gh11
gh11 Member Posts: 27
edited September 2022 in Breast Reconstruction

Hello to all of you - firstly, I wish you the very best in your struggle, and secondly, THANK YOU for sharing your insight and experience. I'm new to the "club" - right breast mastectomy done June 17th 2022 and sitting with these awful tissue expanders while I figure out next steps for my Frankenboob. Very ugly and uncomfortable - I feel like Frankenstein's bride - but hey, I am grateful no chemo or radiation needed so strategizing next steps. Diagnosis: invasive ductal carcinoma in right breast, 1 cm tumor, ER and PR positive and HER2 negative. No cancer in lymph nodes and low oncotype dx score of 10 with no genetic genes according to tests and in perimenopause. Sleepless nights, mood swings and irritability already and I am not even in menopause so dreading the big drugs they want to put me on - tamoxifen and lupron to suppress ovaries. Decided to pause on drugs for a few months while I get the surgery over with because I have 3% risk of recurrence.