Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Should I know Myriad scores pre-surgery? ER/PR % concerns

Options
rbevins
rbevins Member Posts: 3
edited April 2023 in Just Diagnosed

Hi,

Newbie here just trying to navigate this new normal and all the information.

I'm scheduled for a lumpectomy May 1st. My surgeons office took blood for a BRCA test (Myriad) three weeks ago, but I just learned because of a nurse error, they haven't run the test yet. (My doctors office isn't being very cooperative correcting the error). Myraid told me it will take at least a week to get results after the test is run which bumps up dangerously close to my surgery date.

Wouldn't it be best to have these results to determine if a mastectomy would be a better choice than a lumpectory? (I'm wondering how much to bother the surgeons office. Don't want to alienate them.)

I'm also wondering about my ER/PR percentages which are 98%/90% respectively. Does this high percentage have any bearing on anything? (For example chemo needed of definite need for AI?)

Thank you so much for being here!

Comments

• harley07
    harley07 Member Posts: 277
    edited April 2023
    Options

Welcome to BCO. I’m sorry you had to join us but I think you’ll find this site is a great resource. The high ER/PR indicates an AI. The chemo would be determined by your Oncotype or Mammaprint score, along with tumor size, Her2 status and if there is lymph node involvement.

If it were me I would definitely want to know the results of the BRCA test prior to the lumpectomy so you can make an informed decision. I did not have this info as my surgeon was pushing to do the second lumpectomy quickly. As it turned out, while I do not have the BRCA mutation, I do have another mutation that increases my risk for breast and ovarian cancer so I had 2 lumpectomies without realizing I did not have all the information needed to make a good decision.

Good luck with your surgery. We are here for you.

• rbevins