Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Anastrozole

Options
chanda25
chanda25 Member Posts: 1

I was diagnosed with stage 2 invasive ductal cell carcinoma in June 2022. I received 4 cycles of chemo, last cycle was in December 2022. I have been on Anastrozole for about a year and have recently started to experience fairly severe joint pain, primarily in my knees. I have also been experiencing carpal tunnel symptoms. I recently moved and my new oncologist is attributing my symptoms to Anastrozole and he wants to switch me to Letrozole. I am a nurse and am on my feet 8 hours a day 5 days a week and find myself limping into the house at the end of the day. I am almost 45, but my body makes me feel like I’m 90. I know the benefits of being on an aromatase inhibitor and don’t want to stop taking the medication, but I can’t imagine living like this for the next 9 years. Has anyone else experienced this issue?

Comments

• trishyla1
    trishyla1 Member Posts: 50
    Options

I did. I was prescribed Anastrozole back in 2017. I took it for 3 months before I just couldn't do it anymore. The joint pain was so bad in my hands that I would wake up in the night moaning in agony. And I normally have a very high tolerance for pain. I just couldn't live without the use of my hands. To this day, I have to have steroids injected every six months to help with the trigger finger caused by those meds.

They wanted to switch me to one of the other AIs, but I declined. I had triple negative breast cancer as well as hormone positive, so I figured that was more likely to be the one that recurred. So far, I don't regret my decision.

Good luck. I hope you find a med that works for you.

• sallyred
    sallyred Member Posts: 24
    Options