Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

AC Done, Terrified of T!

ohheyitsaj
ohheyitsaj Member Posts: 5

I finished my last round of AC (adriamycin/cyclophosphamide) and I’m scheduled for my first round of paclitaxel this week… and I’m terrified. I have a huge fear of allergic reactions and I keep seeing people post about how they had reactions to Taxol and couldn’t breathe. I’m also scared of neuropathy (I’m an artist, I need to feel my fingers!) and I’m having so much bone/joint/muscle pain from the Lapelga shots that I’m petrified of the paclitaxel because people keep saying it causes them bone and joint pain. Im really, really anxious about it, to the point that I’m ready to call it at the halfway point and move on to radiation.

What was your experience with paclitaxel like? Did you have a reaction? How were your side effects compared to the AC (if you had it)

Comments

• lw422
    lw422 Member Posts: 1,399
    edited April 2023

I had Taxol first, then AC. In my experience, Taxol was much, MUCH easier to tolerate than AC. The chemo nurses should be monitoring you closely, particularly for the first infusion. I iced my hands, feet, and sucked on ice chips during infusion to help reduce the chance of neuropathy and thankfully I don't have any. My chemo was in 2021 and as far as I know I've had no lingering SEs. Good luck to you. You can do this.

• mountainmia
    mountainmia Member Posts: 857
    edited April 2023