Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

De Novo Metastatic

Options
Lost47
Lost47 Member Posts: 20

Hello, I’m new to blogging and to breast cancer. I’m overwhelmed by the speed of my diagnosis, even my doctors are shocked. November of last year I learned from biopsy and mammogram that I had Stage 1 A breast cancer. The tumor in the left breast was < 2 cm invasive ductal carcinoma grade 2. I was scheduled for bilateral mastectomy and expanders to begin reconstruction. My surgeon said she always does a sentinel biopsy even though nothing was noted by physical exam or mammogram/ ultrasound in lymph nodes.
My surgery was supposed to be December 28 but it was postponed due to one of the surgeons having Covid. I had the surgery January 12 of this year. Surgery went well. My biopsy results showed actually 2 tumors in the left breast and both lymph nodes that were removed had breast cancer expanding outside the nodes. The oncology breast surgeon was shocked and had ordered a Bone scan and CT of Abd/chest pelvis. The abdominal CT showed 2 lesions and was recommended for MRI. The bone scan had lit up over left forearm, X-ray completed due to recommendation of bone scan. X-ray recommended MRI of left forearm. I had to have expanders removed February 10 to have the MRI. The MRI of abdomen stated multiple metastatic lesions to liver. The forearm was benign. I had a liver biopsy last week Wednesday, which confirmed the MRI. Went from Stage 1 to Stage 4 in 3 months. Sorry, for the long story. I’m just lost.

Comments

• moth
    moth Member Posts: 3,293
    edited February 2021
    Options

Hi, welcome & sorry you find yourself here.

I never really know whether de novo is worse or thinking you're done with early stage & sent on your way only to be slapped down again.. they both really suck.

Anywyay, glad you're here. We have tons of info and support. You might want to check out the de novo thread https://community.breastcancer.org/forum/8/topics/...