Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Soy or Not?

Options
ausykaren
ausykaren Member Posts: 61

Can someone please clear up whether women who have hormone positive breast cancer can have soy milk or not? Studies on this subject are very conflicting. I asked my oncologist and she said it’s ok to have. I’m so confused.

Comments

• sunshine99
    sunshine99 Member Posts: 2,609
    edited February 2021
    Options

Ausykaren, I agree that the "evidence" is very conflicting. Soy is good - soy is bad. Coffee is good - coffee is bad. The list goes on and on. I'm not a doctor (and I don't play one on TV), but it seems that moderation is the key for just about everything.

I do believe that stressing about what we put in our bodies is more harmful than what we actually eat or drink - within reason, of course.

Carol

• exbrnxgrl
    exbrnxgrl Member Posts: 4,789
    edited February 2021
    Options

sunshine,

I couldn’t agree more, especially with your last sentence. When I was first diagnosed I worried about every bite that I put in my mouth, followed a restrictive diet, etc. Not only was I stressed and grumpy but I was fighting with my younger dd who had taken on the roll of food monitor. I am not suggesting that folks live on unhealthy foods but I always had a reasonably healthy diet so I went back to it and feel hugely relieved of the burden of thinking that each bite of “bad” food was going to make my bc progress. I can’t say whether or not my approach has worked, in terms of progression, but I am almost at the 10 year mark at stage IV with no progression since initial tx. I do know that I am a million times more relaxed and happy since I let go of food worry and restrictions.