Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

lumpectomy two days ago and abdominal swelling

Options
jpteacher1
jpteacher1 Member Posts: 8

I was expecting some minor swelling at the lumpectomy sight and the area near the sentinel lymph node removal.  I didn't expect to have abdominal bloating/swelling.  The doctor says it was probably caused by the medication they gave me before surgery when I had an empty stomach.  He said it will take awhile for my system to "wake up".  Has anyone else had this problem.  I'm worried that my abdominal bloating/swelling may be due to the lymph node removal. 

Comments

• sarahjane7374
    sarahjane7374 Member Posts: 23
    Options

I got really bloated after my surgeries - I think it was due to all the IV fluids and the anesthesia, plus a little constipation added in. I'm not a doctor, but I don't see how lymph node removal in the chest/arm area would cause abdominal swelling.

• ziggypop
    ziggypop Member Posts: 276
    Options

jpteacher - I have never heard of lymph node removal creating swelling in the belly, I have mild LE & if it's that you are concerned about, it doesn't start right after the surgery. If you are on pain meds, I would recommend taking a stool softener as they make some people quite constipated & that can cause your belly to hurt & swell. Give it a day or two - I'd bet it will go down soon. Hope you are otherwise doing alright.

• kicks
    kicks Member Posts: 319
    Options

Go to the LymphEdema sections here to find out what LE is.