Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Is weight training after reconstruction possible w implants?

Options
2»

Comments

• yogini
    yogini Member Posts: 3
    edited November 2008
    Options

This is all very new for me.....I am at the beginning of this journey, having just started chemo, prior to a surgery.  I am a yoga instructor (25 years) and practitioner, and am trying to decide what sort of surgery to have.....  One option is the latissimus dorsi flap and a silicone implant.  My concern is that I don't know how this will impact my yoga.  I'm guessing that the lat flap and the elevated pec will cause a weakening and tightening of those muscles, but I'm just not sure if they will render me unable to practice and teach yoga.....  Any feedback from those of you that have had similar surgeries would be greatly appreciated.

Ally

• Alicia
    Alicia Member Posts: 17
    edited November 2008
    Options

Great to hear from a yoga practitioner! In the past, I've taken classes in few different types of yoga, including Ashtanga. But with 17 lymph nodes removed, I wonder if I'll ever be able to do downward-facing dogs again. I'm supposed to be very careful at building up the amount of weight I can bear, making sure to do it gradually (I'm up to 5 pounds right now). But with downward-facing dogs, the tendons in the back of my legs are too tight to get my heals on the floor, so it puts a ton of weight on my arms and shoulders unless I bend my knees a lot.

Do any of you have experience with this part of yoga post-mastectomy/lymph node dissection? 

• yogini
    edited November 2008
    Options