Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

PICTORAL FOR KINESIO TAPING A LE HAND

LindaLou53
LindaLou53 Member Posts: 60
edited May 2018 in Lymphedema

I promised Binney I would try to post a pictoral/tutorial on how I use Kinesio Tape (KT) for my Stage 2 fibrotic LE hand.  I want to preface this tutorial with a couple of caveats.

1.   Do not attempt to self-apply KT if you have not yet been evaluated by a certified lymphedema  therapist as to the appropriateness of KT for your type LE and skin condition.

2.   Do not attempt to self-apply KT until you have been professionally taped by a certified lymphedema therapist to determine its effectiveness in your type of LE and you have received proper training and supervision in the application of KT.

I have been self-applying KT for over 2 years now, but I was previously taped and instructed by my CLT therapist for many months in addition to attending KT lectures by Ruth Coopee and have assisted my therapist in KT instructional presentations to other LE therapists.  I am not going to go into great depth here on how KT works to reduce LE swelling or all the application details because you can read the excellent article by Ruth Coopee on the Stepup-Speakout website here:

http://www.stepup-speakout.org/kinsiotaping_for_lymphedema.htm 

KINESIO TAPING A LE HAND

Supplies Needed:

You will need a roll of KT and a pair of scissors for cutting the tape. Kinesio Tape currently comes in 4 colors - Black, Blue, Pink and Beige.  It is available in standard and water resistant.  It is also available in 2inch or 3inch widths.