Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

Cold Caps Users Past and Present, to Save Hair

Comments

• Foxybrighton
    Foxybrighton Member Posts: 1
    edited May 2011

Hi, I'm a newbie from Brighton, UK. I am currently on 6x FEC75 and had my 4th treatment yesterday. I have been using the Paxman cold cap and for the first 2 treatments I found it to be awful for 10 minutes but then tolerable. I lost quite a lot of hair just after the 2nd one and since then I have been losing much less. I would guess I have lost 30% volume evenly with no bald spots as yet. The 3rd one I found more painful and distressing so I was dreading my 4th chemo yesterday. I was very distressed and felt nauseous the whole way through and felt traumatised and was sobbing on and off for the rest of the day as I have been today. I had 0.5mg Lorazepam just before and took ibuprofen/paracetamol. I have seen references to taking benedryl so was wondering how this helps and any other advice you ladies can offer to make chemo/cold cap day more tolerable as I am feeling so upset about it at the moment. I would, however, like to add that I would go through it again as baldness would be more distressing, so don't want to deter anyone from doing it, it's just not all plain-sailing, that's all! many thanks, Vanessa 

• DebRox
    DebRox Member Posts: 141
    edited May 2011

Foxybrighton: while I have only had one session with the caps, I took a klonopin before hand, I think similar to lorazepam, which i think is xanax. I found xanax made me emotional, klonopin merely takes the edge off. Similar drug, different feeling.

I also took a vidicon left over from surgery to help tolerate the coldness of the first few caps. Maybe a stronger pain med would help.