Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

Cold Caps Users Past and Present, to Save Hair

Comments

• serenitywisdom
    serenitywisdom Member Posts: 109
    edited July 2011

Hi everyone,

Well I graduated!!!!  

I just completed my last TCH (6th chemo)  on Friday and am verry happy to report I still have most of my hair  and my sanity.  I guess my hair even grew during the treatments because I have about 2 inches of grey black roots.  It is great to be able to go out and not have to worry about wearing a wig, cap and just feel more normal.  I am having some side effects right now (some neuropathy, heartburn, taxo tears,  and definitely more tired but is a good feeling to finally be done..  My son who has autism never even knew I had chemo.  I know he would have been even more worried if he saw me bald.  The surgeries were scary enough for him.    

I now  have the  8 caps  on my kitchen table getting ready to be shipped back.  As I look at them I am reminded of the many positive and some negative experiences I have had because of them.  I remember some of the nurses initial hostility and negativity at first, telling me it wouldn't work and telling me I could not bring an ice chest into the infusion center.  The ice caps taught me to be more of an advocate for myself.   I ended up speaking with my oncologist, nurse educator, social worker just to get them to understand.  I am not certain they do even now, , because some of them seem very  indifferent but  I hope to make a presentation to their tumor board and others .  For me it wasn't all about saving the hair,but having some control over my journey with cancer.