Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

How many of us took Birth Control Pills?

Options
1235»

Comments

• snowcat0605
    snowcat0605 Member Posts: 3
    edited December 2022
    Options

I’m a pharmacist. Yes, birth control does increase your risk of breast cancer, however, the risk is low. I know that doesn’t help anyone here. I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome. The pill is first line treatment. That said, your dr should have told yo

• threetree
    threetree Member Posts: 1,271
    edited December 2022
    Options

I took what was called Ortho/Novum back circa 1970 when I was about 17 or 18. A local neighborhood GP prescribed it for me on the basis that it would make my menstrual cramps much less severe and painful. I took some big dose they had for about 2-3years and during that time (age 19), I developed what I was told was a benign fibroadenoma, after it was removed. When I was about 21 I went to a university health center for students for a check up and when they heard I was taking the high dose of Ortho Novum, they just about died, asked me who on earth had ever prescribed it, and said no one should take that much, and they switched me to a lower dose. I can't remember the dosages they had, but it was something like Ortho Novum 40/80 and Ortho Novum 10/30. It was something about the different levels of estrogen and progestogen in the pill. I took that until I had had two children and was about 32 years old and I decided that I just hated the side effects (moodiness, etc) and just never wanted to take anything that messed with hormones again.