Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Fat Graft Transfer and the Radiated Breast

Options

Comments

• dancetrancer
    dancetrancer Member Posts: 2,461
    Options

You're welcome!  And thanks for making it a link.  I think I figured out how to do that finally...usually I am much more tech savy than that, LOL! 

• whippetmom
    whippetmom Member Posts: 6,028
    Options
    You just have to hit "Enter" at the end of the link so that it is highlighted.  I am NOT tech savvy....so you are way ahead of me! Wink
  • bodback
    bodback Member Posts: 5
    Options

I had bmx, one side cancer, the other pm.  I did immediate recon with impant and then had radiation.  Skin broke down and had to have implant removed on rad side.  After 8 years, I am now starting the process of fat transfer to rad side.  PS says he is hopeful he can rejuvenate skin via AFT and then place TE and expand rad tissue.  I am 3 weeks post first fat transfer.  My skin looks great.  I am VERY cautiously optimistic.  I would love to hear success stories. I am thin and don't have alot of fat to spare...anyone have good outcome?

• dancetrancer
    Options

Bodback, have you considered full fat grafting instead of an implant?  There are a lot of pro's and con's.  Cons: having to wear the Brava for a LONG time, needing multiple surgeries, and often not having a doc in your area that is qualified to do full fat grafting (it is a relatively new procedure).  However, the pro's are that you wouldn't have the increased risk of capsular contracture that comes along with implants w/radiation history.  Just something to consider, if you haven't already.  There is a fat grafting specific forum where you can learn more over at www.fatgraftpatients.com.   

• truebff
    truebff Member Posts: 322
    Options